Candidate Nominations for Deacon Election 2021

A Deacon Election Committee (DEC) has been formed, consisting of members Kate Kung, Daniel Li, Vivian Chui, Alan Choi, Pastor Enoch Yim and Pastor Eugene So. Three existing deacons will step down, and three new deacons will be elected for the 2022-2023 term. Kelvin Poon and Andrew Yeung have committed to re-election.

The board would like to invite members to nominate deacon candidates to the DEC by completing the online form below, with two members’ support, by the deadline September 19th:

According to church bylaws, the qualifications for deacon candidates are:

  1. Good standing member of BPGC (Acts 6:3) with knowledge, and familiarity of the church
  2. Born again Christian, and baptized for over two years (1 Timothy 3:6)
  3. Has good witness on marriage, and personal relationships (1 Timothy 3:2)
  4. Has good reputation (1 Timothy 3:7; Acts 6:3)
    – No bad habits, no illegal or immoral action
    – Has good witness in personal life, and family relationship (1 Timothy 3:2)
  5. Has good witness in personal tithing (Malachi 3:10; Matthew 6:21)
  6. Has good relationship with God, and serves cooperatively with others in ministry (1 Corinthians 12:24)
  7. Has served faithfully in previous ministry positions, eg. department head, Sunday school teacher, or other church ministries (2 Corinthians 8:22; 1 Timothy 3:10)


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.